Emergency Information

Welcome to the Robert Morris University Emergency page!

In the event of an emergency, this page will be used to provide timely information for students, parents, faculty, staff and other members of the RMU community. It will be updated regularly as new information becomes available.

Reporting an Emergency

  • Call 9 911 from any location phone: or
  • Pick up any classroom phone to be immediately connected to an operator

Emergency Information

In the event of an emergency, the University uses multiple methods of emergency notification to inform the RMU community about the nature of the emergency and how to respond.  In the event of a time-sensitive emergency, the primary communication methods are text, cell, and e-mail messaging.  Please review the

In instances that are less time-sensitve, e-mail blasts and this web page will serve as the primary method of communication.  The Chat Live Icon will allow for real time communication with RMU representatives. 

Emergency Planning

The University's emergency planning protocols were developed to ensure the safety of students, faculty, staff and visitors in the event of a location disaster or other emergency situation.  The resources and information contained on this website are a component of the overall Emergency Plan. 


Check out RMU's Health Tips

Robert Morris University Illinois is a private, not-for-profit associate, baccalaureate, and master's degree-granting institution, accredited by the Higher learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604, 312.263.0456) and authorized by the Illinois Board of Higher Education (1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza Suite 333, Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377, 217.782.2551, IBHE Feedback). Robert Morris serves over 4500 students interested in getting an education that meets the demands of today's business, graphic arts, health care, culinary and technical world at its main campus in Chicago as well as at locations in Arlington Heights, DuPage, Elgin, Orland Park, Schaumburg, Springfield, Peoria and Lake County.