Eligibility Requirements

All students who apply for Federal, State, or Institutional financial aid must meet certain requirements:

  1. Be admitted into an RMU degree program. All students must have earned either a high school diploma or General Education Development (GED) certificate.
  2. Be enrolled at least half-time (8 hours or more) for all aid except Pell.
  3. Be a US citizen or eligible non-citizen.
  4. Make satisfactory academic progress in the program of study. Academic progress includes both quantitative and qualitative measures.
  5. Not be in default on any federal loan or owe a repayment on any federal or state grant.
  6. Comply with all federal regulations governing selective service registration.
  7. Use all funds for educational purposes ONLY.
  8. Resolve any issues listed on the Student Aid Report that result from electronic data matches among various departments within the Federal Government.


Eligibility for Returning Students

  1. Balances from prior quarters must be satisfied.
  2. Returning students in good academic standing will be eligible for financial assistance immediately upon their return to RMU. Students on Academic Probation will receive financial assistance once he/she meets the conditions set forth by the Academic Progress Committee.
  3. It is recommended that financial aid be completed at least 3 weeks prior to the quarter start date.

Robert Morris University Illinois is a private, not-for-profit associate, baccalaureate, and master's degree-granting institution, accredited by the Higher learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604, 312.263.0456) and authorized by the Illinois Board of Higher Education (1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza Suite 333, Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377, 217.782.2551, IBHE Feedback). Robert Morris serves over 4500 students interested in getting an education that meets the demands of today's business, graphic arts, health care, culinary and technical world at its main campus in Chicago as well as at locations in Arlington Heights, DuPage, Elgin, Orland Park, Schaumburg, Springfield, Peoria and Lake County.