TRIO is a partnering of three separate student-oriented services that Robert Morris University provides its own students, as well as high school students. The three programs are: Educational Talent Search, Student Support Services, and Upward Bound.

Educational Talent Search (ETS) - Academic outreach program designed to identify and select qualified youth who, with support, will complete middle school, high school, enroll in a post-secondary institution, and select careers.

Student Support Services (SSS) - Academic support services program designed to identify and select qualified undergraduate students who, with support, will complete a baccalaureate program.

Upward Bound (UB) - Academic support services that identifies qualified high school students who, with support, will graduate from high school and enter into a four year college/university.

All TRIO services are free to qualified individuals*. 
To qualify you must be:

  • At a low family income level.
  • A potential first-generation college student.
  • A U.S. citizen, national, or permanent resident.
  • Enrolled at one of our target high
    schools (UB and ETS only).

If you would like to read up on TRIO throughout the country, please feel free to visit the TRIO National Website.

*Participants are selected without regard to race

Robert Morris University Illinois is a private, not-for-profit associate, baccalaureate, and master's degree-granting institution, accredited by the Higher learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604, 312.263.0456) and authorized by the Illinois Board of Higher Education (1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza Suite 333, Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377, 217.782.2551, IBHE Feedback). Robert Morris serves over 4500 students interested in getting an education that meets the demands of today's business, graphic arts, health care, culinary and technical world at its main campus in Chicago as well as at locations in Arlington Heights, DuPage, Elgin, Orland Park, Schaumburg, Springfield, Peoria and Lake County.