Our Mission, History, and Credentials


Robert Morris University offers professional, career-focused education in a collegiate setting to diverse communities.

Characteristics & Definitions

Robert Morris University is an independent, not-for-profit, multi-location institution offering associate, baccalaureate, and graduate degree programs that focus on integrating theory and applications. Robert Morris University prepares students to be practitioners in their chosen fields, socially responsible to their communities, and a foundation for their families.

Our Values

Serving the Community
Creating Opportunity
Experiential Teaching

Robert Morris University is dedicated to:

  • Growth: To provide the opportunity for an RMU education to an increasing number of students.
  • Improvement: To continually improve program offerings and the delivery of services.
  • Viability: To manage scarce resources with efficiency.
  • Enrichment: To enrich the personal and professional lives of students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the communities we serve.

Organization and Governance

Robert Morris University is a private, independent, not-for-profit institution of higher education. It is incorporated and operated under the provisions of the General Not-for-Profit Corporation Act of the State of Illinois and is declared tax-exempt by the U.S. Department of the Treasury 501(c)(3).

Overall institutional policy is established by the University's Board of Trustees.


Download the RMU History Brochure.

- Moser School is founded.

- Robert Morris College is chartered in Carthage.

- Robert Morris College comes to Chicago, merging with the Moser School.

- Robert Morris College is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

- A campus opens in Springfield, Illinois.

- Third campus opens in Orland Park, Illinois.
- The University begins to award the Bachelor of Business Administration Degree.

- Robert Morris College becomes a member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference (CCAC).

- Fourth campus opens in Naperville, Illinois.

- The Chicago Campus moves to 401 South State Street.
- Athletic Program begins in Springfield, Illinois.

- Fifth campus opens in Bensenville, Illinois.

- The University begins to award the Bachelor of Applied Science Degree in Graphic Design.
- Sixth campus opens in Peoria, Illinois.
- The University begins to award the Bachelor of Applied Science Degree in Computer Studies.

- The Naperville Campus relocated to Aurora, Illinois, the DuPage Campus.

- The Orland Park Campus introduces the Technology Center.
- Teaching Fellows appointed.

- Seventh campus opens in Waukegan, Illinois, the Lake County Location.
- Institute of Culinary Arts established.
- Teaching Institute and Center for Applied Leadership established.

- School of Graduate Studies established.
- Women win ACHA Ice Hockey National Championship.
- College earns University status.

- The University begins to award the Bachelor of Professional Studies Degree.
- Women's team wins 2nd ACHA Ice Hockey National Championship.

- The first Graduate School campus is established in Schaumburg, Illinois.

- Ninth location opens in Elgin, Illinois.
- Center for the Performing Arts was introduced.

- The University begins to award the Master of Management.
- Integration Center established.
- Institute for Clinical Social Work offers doctoral program at the Robert Morris Center.
- Information Technology Library opens.

- Tenth campus opens in Arlington Heights, Illinois.
- Eyrie Restaurant opens in Oak Park, Illinois.
- College of Adult Continuing Studies is introduced.
- Cardinal Stritch University offers doctoral programs at RMU.
- Athletic Program grows to 63 teams.
- College of Liberal Arts is introduced.

Learn more about our Points of Distinction.

Robert Morris University Illinois is a private, not-for-profit associate, baccalaureate, and master's degree-granting institution, accredited by the Higher learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604, 312.263.0456) and authorized by the Illinois Board of Higher Education (1 N. Old State Capitol Plaza Suite 333, Springfield, Illinois 62701-1377, 217.782.2551, IBHE Feedback). Robert Morris serves over 4500 students interested in getting an education that meets the demands of today's business, graphic arts, health care, culinary and technical world at its main campus in Chicago as well as at locations in Arlington Heights, DuPage, Elgin, Orland Park, Schaumburg, Springfield, Peoria and Lake County.